Shared Topic: Windows to the World

My User Interface is something that I am pretty proud of, although I do not think I am a trend setter in any way. It is more that I created this myself, with my own design elements, add-ons, and placement. Obviously I found inspiration in a lot of places, not the least of which is WoW Insider’s “Reader UI of the Week.” Since raiding in 10’s is my end game preference, my UI is built around telling me the information I need, and when I need to see. The basic elements start at the bottom, and as your eyes track upgrade towards the character the information becomes more important. For example, it’s nice for Titan Panel to tell me that my latency is 44ms, but it’s important that I know I have the available runes to hit Death Strike (as evidenced by the Death Strike icon from Weak Auras), which is why the WA visual effect is practically on my character. Death Strikes are critical to Blood tanking, and it needs to be in a prominent spot. Hence, Titan Panel information at the bottom, Weak Auras towards my character.

You can see many of my add-ons and design elements are on the bottom. I found over time the visual cues in the top corners were hard to keep my eyes on.

The next screenshot is with test bars from Deus Vox Encounters running. This is where alerts and boss cooldown information is displayed. I almost exclusively prefer DXE to Deadly Boss Mods, because I think it has a cleaner and sharper look, and frequently does a better job of alerting me to important events (exception being telling me which raid members receive Fading Light, DBM lists names while DXE puts raid markers on them – I prefer DBM’s method in this case).

I prefer DXE to DBM, but not because of anything that DBM lacks.

When I’m not in combat I really prefer to see the world in its unencumbered glory, so I have set all of my actions bars, unit frames, resource mods, etc. I be mostly transparent unless I’m engaged. I’ve tinkered with completely transparent, but not seeing my UI makes me uncomfortable still.

Out of Combat

My UI is pretty much constantly evolving and changing, but I have been using this basic configuration with minor tweaks since Cataclysm launched and have been very happy with its functionality.

Full List of Add-ons:

Adibags
Altoholic
Auctionator
Blood Shield Tracker
Chinchilla
Crap Away
Deus Vox Encounters
Doc’s Debug Runes
eAlign (helps makes things symmetrical and straight – awesome)
Grid
Healers-Have-To-Die
fbngBuffFrame
Mik Scrolling Battle Text (although I don’t know why, I barely watch it)
MogIt
Moncai Quest Tracker
OmniCC (Cooldown tracker)
Pitbull
Postal
Quartz (Cast Bars)
Razer Naga
Skada
Tidy Plates
TipTac
Titan
Weak Auras
Yor’shaj Automatic Raid Warnings

Doc’s Debug Runes equivalents for Paladin (Movable Holy Power) and Druid (EclipseBarPlus). When I switch characters, my rune UI switches to either an Eclipse bar for my balance druid or Holy Power indicator for my paladin.

4 thoughts on “Shared Topic: Windows to the World”

  1. eAlign was an awesome decision (which I stole from WoW Insider’s weekly UI article). Being able to line things up properly was way more important to me visually than I realized.

  2. I’m really impressed with your transparent out of combat settings! I once tried to have my bars disappear completely unless I hovered over them or went into combat but it made me SO NERVOUS. Idk why but I couldn’t get used to not seeing my available spells. Now I have a few bars that are invisible/transparent depending on combat status, but spells are always available. As are my unit frames and map. I just need to look at them *_* Align is amazing as well!!

Leave a Reply

